Merit Scholarship

This $1,500 cash award is awarded each spring to a graduating high school senior who is the son or daughter of an MBA member bank employee in Mississippi. The scholarship is presented to the winner during the Mississippi Young Bankers Convention. The Merit Scholarship is awarded based on high school academic excellence and extracurricular activities. Click here for the 2023 application.

Orrin Swayze Scholastic Awards

The Orrin Swayze Scholastic Awards, presented each year to Mississippi college students, carry on the tradition of banking excellence started by Orrin H. Swayze Jr., widely-respected Mississippi banker and promoter of banking education. Swayze served as a senior officer for Trustmark (which was then known as First National Bank of  Jackson) for many years until his retirement in 1967. From 1950-1970, he served as the director of the Graduate School of Banking at LSU. The scholarships, awarded at the MYB Study Conference & Convention each year since 1979, include one award of $5,000 to the Swayze Scholar and four awards of $1,500 given to the runners-up, called MYB Scholars. Five scholarship finalists are invited to the Mississippi Young Bankers Convention each year to interview with the MYB Scholarship Committee. In addition to the cash award, each Swayze Scholar also receives a medallion featuring an engraving of Swayze to wear at graduation ceremonies.  Applicants must be nominated by their banking professor.

Leadership Scholarship
The MYB Leadership Scholarship is a $2,000 award presented to a junior banking and finance major at a state-supported university. This award is presented each year at the annual MYB Leadership Conference in the fall.  Applicants must be nominated by their banking professor.

For more information about scholarship opportunities, please contact Amy Davis at the MBA.