Press Releases
Bankers: Keep us informed on  your latest updates. Download a press release form.

For questions relating to media or to submit a press release, please contact MBA Communications Manager, Amanda Markow, or 601-948-6366.

Latest MBA News

February 8, 2023
New Analysis Highlights Mississippi CDFI Banks’ Financial Inclusion Efforts

November 17, 2022
Mississippi Bankers Association sponsors 12th annual virtual ‘Banker in Every Classroom’ Week October 31-November 4

June 24, 2022
Hue Townsend elected to MBA Board of Directors

June 23
Lillous Ann Shoemaker elected to MBA Board of Directors

June 22, 2022
Justin Hill elected to MBA Board of Directors

June 21, 2022
Duane Dewey elected to MBA Board of Directors

June 17, 2022
Brad Jones elected MBA Treasurer

June 16, 2022
Mitch Waycaster elected MBA Vice Chair

June 15, 2022
Hoppy Cole elected MBA Chair

April 21, 2022
Kit McCoy elected to MYB Council

April 20, 2022
Carlos Brown elected to MYB Council

April 19, 2022
Amanda Krebs elected to MYB Council 

April 18, 2022
Kyle McCoy elected to MYB Council

April 14, 2022
Brooks Corder elected Treasurer MYB Council

April 13, 2022
Gage Walker elected Vice President MYB Council

April 12, 2022
Drew Kenna elected President of MYB Council 

April 7, 2022
Joint State Association Letter on Credit Union Legislation

December 16, 2021
Year in Review

December 6, 2021
Sparkman awarded 2021 Leadership Scholarship

October 22, 2021
Op-Ed: Even with changes, Mississippi Banks continue to oppose IRS reporting requirement proposal

October 21, 2021
Mississippi Business Unite to Oppose Proposed IRS Reporting Requirement

April 27, 2021
Time Running Out for Paycheck Protection Program

March 31, 2021
Paycheck Protection Program Extended through May 31

March 3, 2021
Annual Event Update

December 21, 2020
Year in Review Social 

December 18, 2020
Year in Review

November 18, 2020
MBA sponsors 10th annual virtual 'Banker in Every Classroom' Week Recap 

October 28, 2020
Mississippi Bankers Association sponsors 10th annual virtual ‘Banker in Every Classroom’ Week November 2-6

October 21, 2020
Opinion-Medicinal Marijuana Could Cause Unforeseen Problems for Many Bank Customers

October 19, 2020
Mississippi Bankers support "In God We Trust Flag" 

September 11, 2020
MBA Statement on "In God We Trust Flag" 

July 17, 2020 
Mississippi Banks Ask Consumers to Deposit, Use Spare Change due to Shortage

July 10, 2020
Understanding Coins during Covid-19 Outbreak

July 8, 2020
MS Rates in Top 10 on PPP Loan Success

June 26, 2020
Federal Reserve Coin Rationing Talking Points

June 23, 2020
MBA Statement Regarding the Official Flag of the State of Mississippi

Jun 15, 2020
Older American Financial Tip Sheet - ABA

June 3, 2020
MYB Swayze Scholars and Merit Scholar

May 20, 2020
Mississippi rates top in country for PPP loan success

April 23, 2020
Mississippi Banks Commend Congress for Adding Funds to Paycheck Protection Program

April 14, 2020
SBA Releases Data Regarding Paycheck Protection Program Progess

April 8, 2020

MBA submits Comment Letter on FDIC and OCC Proposed CRA Reform

March 27, 2020
Banks Essential Under Executive Order: Your Money is Safe, Sound and Easily Accesible

March 17, 2020
Mississippi Bankers Association and Mississippi Banks address Coronavirus (COVID-19)

March 3, 2020
MYB Convention Preview

February 20, 2020
Banker in Every Classroom 2019

February 19, 2020
Mississippi Bankers prepare for possible CRA changes

January 7, 2020
Eric Bennett joins MBA Staff as Director, Government Relations

January 1, 2020
Gordon Fellows assumes role of MBA President and CEO

December 15, 2019
McKinley Deaver Retires from MBA 

November, 2019 
MYB Leadership Conference

November, 2019
Fall Issue of The Mississippi Banker Magazine

November 4, 2019
Banker in Every Classrom Week

June, 2019
Bank of Holly Springs Celebrates 150 Years

May 2019
2019-2020 Board Officers:
Greg McKee, The Citizens Bank, Philadelphia
Vice Chairman
Andy Anderson, Bank of Anguilla
Hoppy Cole, The First, Hattiesburg
New Board Members

North Division-Jay Tindall, Sycamore Bank, Senatobia
Central Division-Henry "Bubba" Logue, Merchants & Planters Bank, Raymond 
South Division-David Hemeter, First National Bank of Picayune
At-Large-Kevin Chapman, Renasant Bank, Tupelo